Back in the saddle

It’s been a long time since I’ve kept up a regular blog. Whether this one will count, I don’t know yet, but for now I’m gonna give this thing a shot. I’m going to try to do this at least once a day, just so I have something to keep me on it, but if I miss a day here or there I’m not going to worry about it. The main reason I needed to get back up on this horse was for the sake of marketing, but it’d also be nice to have a platform for my favorite pastime (ranting) once again.

This time around I’ve decided to eschew politics. There are many reasons for this. Keeping up a political blog is kind of exhausting, for one. Beyond that, too many friends and family that I greatly respect have opinions on the subject that I do not, as I’m sure they could say of me (I hope) and mine. There are so many more satisfying things to complain about anyway, and why focus on what divides us when we can stand together against things that really matter and we can all agree on: The criminalization of folk music in commercials, consigning the musical careers of Nicki Minaj and Pitbull to utter oblivion, and making it legal to hunt spammers for sport.

All rant and no rave makes Jack a dull boy, so this won’t just be about bashing my favorite punching bags. I’ve had a tradition of live-blogging the Macy’s parade for a few years now, so I’ll move that here this time. I’ll post recipes, and half-baked ideas. I’ll talk about what I’m working on.

Which brings us back to marketing. As my immediate family and much of my extended family has known for some time, I have a book. I actually have more than one book, but right now there’s one actually published that you can actually buy on Amazon right now for your Kindle or any device with a Kindle app. (I’ll be working on getting it up on other sites too, and a Createspace print edition is planned.)

One Woke UpThe book is called One Woke Up, and it’s about a zombie who isn’t a zombie anymore. In this world, civilization has survived a short outbreak more or less intact, and the infected are not truly undead, just psychotic beyond reason. “Parker”, the main character, is a man on a mission to find out who he was, why he escaped the madness, and who is responsible for maiming the world. It’s an inversion of the post-apocalyptic zombie trope, if you like. And if the idea sounds remotely intriguing to you, go buy it and tell all your friends to buy it too.

I know that’s pretty sucky as far as marketing goes, but it’s a start. I’ve been doing final edits on another book I’d like to get out there called The Affix, which I wrote for NaNoWriMo last year. The cover I have so far is terrible, but it might have to do. I’ll share more about the book in future posts and perhaps paste some quotes from various work here, just for fun.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

