The tree dilemma

I’m headed into the weekend facing a dilemma. Several things on my to-do list really need to get done soon, but I’m not sure where to start and several of them are probably mutually exclusive.

  • I need to do some hardcore cleaning in the living room on Saturday to get ready for the Christmas tree, and put up the tree on Sunday.
  • One Woke Up needs to be submitted to Barnes & Noble and I need to do more work on a wraparound cover and internal formatting for Createspace.
  • The Affix needs further editing; I had forgotten that I was trying to resolve a conundrum about what happened to one of the character’s cars.
  • At some point, I have to do more Christmas shopping. This also includes shopping for my wife’s birthday.

I’m the kind of guy who likes to get the tree up ASAP. Thanksgiving weekend really wasn’t an option though. But this weekend, although it’s cold today the temperatures are going to shoot up much higher. You know what’s fun about putting up a tree in rainy weather in the mid-50s? Nothing! I want some snow, darn it.

My plan was to shop next weekend, which would probably leave some time open for book maintenance. But as much as I want to get the tree up, my gut says I should wait till it’s snowing, which will hopefully happen next weekend. But I don’t really want to move shopping up to this weekend, either.

As a compromise, I’m wondering if maybe I can get some cleaning done Saturday without necessarily going whole-hog, and then spend Sunday doing some book stuff. I can then do the remaining cleaning next weekend just before going out to shop, or (more likely) just before.

It’s a good plan, but it has two drawbacks: 1) As much as I don’t want to do the tree when it’s rainy and gross out, this means one more week to wait and no guarantee the weather will cooperate. 2) Life tends to happen and screw up my plans.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

