Chicken Parmesan meatballs

This weekend my plans to use up some fry batter crapped out when it turned out the batter had not survived as well as I thought. But I still made teriyaki chicken wings, and as a bonus I also got to make a recipe I’ve been dying to make myself for a long time now. My cousin and his wife serve these awesome chicken Parmesan meatballs whenever they host a Superbowl party or similar event, and awhile back I finally got the recipe. (Note that this is a derivative of a recipe originally created by Rachel Ray. It seems to have some variations, though.)

This is extremely easy to make. The hardest part is finding ground chicken, which most local Wegmans seem to have in stock only when I’m not planning on making these.

Chicken Parmesan meatballs

  • 2 lbs. ground chicken
  • 4 tsp. grill seasoning (recommended: Penzeys Chicago steak seasoning)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 2/3 cup Italian bread crumbs
  • Olive oil, healthy drizzle

Preheat oven to 425°. Mix the ingredients in a large bowl. Use your hands, and use gloves; it’s raw chicken. Ball up the meatballs, about an inch to an inch and a half in diameter. Place on two cookie sheets, covered with foil for easier cleanup. Bake for 10 minutes, checking for doneness by temperature. (Chicken must be cooked to 165°.) Makes about 40 meatballs.

I halved the recipe—except for the egg, since you can’t easily halve an egg—because I was just cooking for my wife and me. This yielded 20 meatballs. I also had the great idea to stuff the meatballs with little half-inch cubes of mozzarella, which I cut up beforehand. (They’d probably be awesome with a mozzarella and ricotta mix, too, though it might not be firm enough to stuff easily.)

Making these was incredibly easy. Mixing was a simple matter of dumping everything into a bowl and going at it for a minute till everything was blended. No need to beat the egg, just crack it in. Cleanup was as simple as just chucking the foil. I let them cook a little over the 10 minutes hoping they’d brown a little more, but they were done at 10.

These meatballs are pretty versatile for whatever you might want to use them in, or you can just eat them plain. They make a dandy sub. Make these for a game day or a gathering with friends and you won’t be disappointed.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

