Not yet! I’m not ready!

My brain is trying to get me to listen to Christmas music. And I’m like, “No, brain, it’s 11 more days till November from right now. You have to wait.”

Perhaps it’s that this year has come with a great deal of uncertainty, but I’ve been afraid even to fully embrace fall for its fallness. And for the most part, so has the weather. We only just turned our heat back on after a couple of abortive starts, and this time it looks like it’s for keeps.

Fall has always been my favorite time of year. Since I was a kid, this is when I’d get more introspective and my imagination would light up in a thousand different ways. That might be what got me onto my current writing project, I suppose. But it’s always meant a lot of different things to me: New classes (I graduated college before the turn of the millennium, but you never learn to shake that feeling), wet leaves, early darkness, gray skies for the one time of year they’re welcome at all, Halloween, new TV shows, football, home-cooked meals, Thanksgiving dinner, my birthday, my anniversary, and the Macy’s parade. That’s pretty much in order of increasing importance.

Not kidding about the parade; my wife understands.

This year I feel like I’m playing catch-up on all those things. It doesn’t feel like mid-October to me, and it’s freaking me out. I’m not ready for November. I haven’t even done proper wish list maintenance.

Heck, NaNoWriMo is almost upon us, and I’m kinda bummed I’ll miss out on it again this year. I participated for the first time in 2011 and got The Affix out of it. Last year I just had no inspiration. This year, I don’t have a story in mind to write but it doesn’t matter because I’m already writing a book and I don’t dare set it aside to work on another.

Yet while I’m writing, my brain says I should listen to music. First it gets sneaky by saying I should listen to Halloween-themed music. But that’s just so it can divert nutrients to my holiday lobe, because it knows once that gets revved up it’s a slippery slope to Thanksgiving and Christmas. And of course none of these are appropriate to get in the mood for what I’m writing now, but that’s the least of my worries. I know once I get into a Christmas music mode, I won’t get out of it again until somewhere around December 28.

Christmas vacation week. Dangit, brain!

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

