Olympic fever

I admit it: I love the Olympics. Yes, the IOC is a hyper-politicized entity that makes a lot of bad decisions (Beijing and Sochi among them), and there’s all kinds of controversy, and the TV coverage sucks on toast, but I still love the games.

The winter games have long been my favorite, especially the alpine skiing competitions. I don’t know why, but I could watch those all day. I enjoy the figure skating. I enjoy the fierce competition of short track speed skating. I’ve been known to watch curling, though I’ve never known why. And this year, finally, we’ll have women’s ski jumping, which should have been an event 12 years ago.

I’ve said many times before, and will say many more times in my life because I don’t foresee it ever changing, that NBC Sports is run by a bunch of monkeys. This year they’ve been slightly better about not breaking up events into showing just two or three people they think the viewers will care about, which has been a hallmark of their coverage in past years, but it could still be better. Their TV listings are vague to the point of lunacy about which events will be shown at which times; they just have this block of coverage and don’t fully list which events will be covered or in which order. I like Bob Costas just fine, and their commentators. The people who make the programming decisions should be flogged.

But much is forgiven for one thing: NBC has, for many years, accompanied their highlight and promo segments with the theme to The Adventures of Brisco County, Jr., which may well have been the greatest TV show of all time (though Farscape might give it a run for its money). Every time I hear that theme, I feel 16 again and have a big smile. It’s instant happy juice, and that buys a heck of a lot of goodwill.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

