Egg fried pilaf

At the risk of this becoming a food blog (What do you want? It’s still freaking winter here!), I have to share this.

The other night I made up a packet of  Knorr’s (formerly Lipton) rice pilaf, which was often a staple for us growing up. Many a night we had chicken on the grill, that rice pilaf went with it. It’s a pretty basic pilaf; I believe it has some orzo in it as well. And dang is it quick to make. Throw it in a pot with 2 cups of water and a tablespoon of butter, bring it to a boil, cover and simmer for 7 minutes.

Last night I didn’t know what to make for dinner and had about a quarter of the rice pilaf leftover. So I decided to try my hand at making egg fried rice, but with rice pilaf. And good gads was it simple. And yummy.

Plop a pat of butter into a frying pan—I used my 10″ Orgreenic after first doing a couple of eggs for my wife—and once that melts turn it to medium heat. Crack en egg and let that fry for a short time, like about half a minute, and then give it a quick flip. Let it fry a smidge more (not very long) and break it up. Then add the cold rice and a couple more pats of butter. Let that sizzle a bit and then turn up the heat a bit to medium high, and keep stirring. After a few minutes, add a few good splashes of soy sauce, and then keep stirring for a few minutes more.

Really, that’s it.

All in all that took only a few minutes and it was absolutely wonderful to eat. It was packed full of umami thanks to the soy sauce and the chicken stock from the rice, and it didn’t need any salt. The only thing I think would have helped would be vegetables, like bean sprouts and maybe some celery. I wouldn’t have said no to a little chicken either. But it was super simple to cook, and the flavor absolutely blew away any restaurant fried rice I ever had.

If you want more details, I probably used about 2 tbsp. of butter in all, not counting what the rice was originally cooked with, and I doubt it was more than a few tbsp. of soy sauce. My preferred soy sauce is La Choy. If you don’t add enough you can always add more. Be sure you give it a taste before you take it off the stove.

This was such a quick and delicious dish, I’ll definitely be doing it again in the future. The rice pilaf package is really more than I can eat, and my wife can’t eat it on low carb, so now I have something creative to do with the leftovers that’s actually worth doing for its own sake, not just to use up food.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

