Cube steak sous vide attempt #1 verdict

Today I made my favorite cube steak sandwich, a holiday tradition now, by cooking it sous vide style with my new immersion circulator. I cooked it at 133° (it was already on that setting) for one hour before searing it in clarified butter.

I am sad to report that one hour really isn’t enough time to break down the connective tissue in a typical cube steak. The next time I do this, I’m gonna run the sucker for six hours.

Also, while adding frozen garlic cubes to the mushrooms during their sauté sounded like a good idea, it was not. I should have stuck with the regular dried minced stuff. Frozen garlic works really well when I cook mushrooms on the grill, though.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

