Quickie cheese sauce experiment

Today I had some loaded fries for lunch, and decided to play around with the recipe I usually use for cheese sauce. This is my usual recipe:

  • 133 grams shredded or grated sharp cheddar
  • 125 grams water
  • 5 grams sodium citrate

That’s just a matter of simmering the water and sodium citrate, then gradually whisking in handfuls of cheese. Something is a little imperfect about my recipe because it does tend to seize up a little once it’s off the heat, but that’s something to play with another time. Maybe it’s because in these cases I don’t use an immersion blender, which helps a lot. I often end up adding a little water (just a tiny amount) late in the process to loosen it up.

Today, though, I tried something a little different. I used a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce as part of my liquid, and added a clove of frozen minced garlic.

The Worcestershire added a nice subtle meatiness that I appreciated, though I wonder if I should have used more. Too much can be overpowering, as was the case with the garlic. I found that for this amount of cheese sauce, a whole clove of minced garlic is simply too much. Live and learn. It was tasty, and it wasn’t like in-your-face garlicky, but I still think I overstepped the bounds where loaded fries are concerned. This may work as a nice dip, though.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

