The marketing expedition

My first two books didn’t really get a big marketing push when I released them. This was for a number of reasons, although I’d eventually like to give them a good re-push at some point—maybe after getting a professional cover for One Woke Up. But for Below, I’m getting the pro cover and I think this book needs proper marketing. I’m determined to do better this time.

These are uncharted waters for me. I know very little about marketing except what not to do, which is to traumatize people with a dead kid ad in the middle of the Superbowl. (Seriously, screw you, Nationwide.) But seeing as I wasn’t going to do that anyway, that doesn’t help much.

A lot of writers are suggesting I need to get a mailing list going, and I’m thinking they’re probably right. Even if it’s not going to be used for anything right away, I should at least have a way for people to submit their email addresses so I can reach them at a future date. So that, I think, has to happen.

They’re also recommending I get my own site for this, domain and all, and frankly I’m not sure. I already have a host for the site I run for my business, but that’s a different animal—and I don’t want to mix any of that up. WordPress installations are also notoriously hack-happy, and this troubles me.

But probably the most interesting suggestion I’ve gotten so far is to invest in a blog tour. That sounds like a worthwhile idea, so I think I’m going to do it. I’ve begun researching a few companies, but I also want to take a look at some past tours and see how they worked inside and out, to get an idea of what I’m getting into.

Besides that I would love to reach out to fan sites for Roguelike games, Dungeons & Dragons, etc., because they’re the people I want to reach with this book. But how to do so effectively, that I’m not sure about.

I’ve seen many people say Facebook ads don’t work, or mostly don’t, and that’s good enough to convince me not to use them. I’m skeptical of Google. What does that leave? Amazon offers some marketing services that might be decent, so I can check them out I guess. Then what?

This is all in the early stages. But right now I feel very much like a fish out of water.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

