The waiting

By way of an update to my last post, I’ve decided not to do NaNoWriMo this year. Too much was going on, I didn’t have a good enough story germ to run with, and darn it I’m just tired. I have a whole mid-life crisis to begin, and about two weeks to finish it.

So where things stand with the book stuff right now is that I’m getting marketing ideas together for Below, and meanwhile I’m waiting for updates on the cover process. And the waiting is agonizing.

We’re now in the last stage of the cover design. My artist has completed her last sketch—which I showed around to friends and family on Facebook, and they loved—and now she’s in the home stretch. But the home stretch is what takes the longest time, such that it’s quite possible it’ll stretch into December. I haven’t heard from her in a little bit, but I know that’s because she’s busy working on the piece, and I have no intention of poking my head in every few days to ask how it’s going. She promised to send updates during the process, so it’s just a matter of waiting for that first update when it’s ready. It takes as long as it takes.

I can’t help but feel, though, the same sense of anticipation I got as a kid when Christmas was coming. (Speaking of which, it’s okay to play Christmas music now, whatever the Grinches say. My mom’s been doing it since September anyway.) I’m dying to see the finished work and can’t wait to get this book released. I’m even super excited just to see a preview, which I know I will soon enough. It means a lot to me, this first commissioned work.

But while I’m waiting, and working on the marketing angles, Bad Idea Mode is creeping up and telling me I should do more baking. It is November now, after all.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

