Good steak day

Last night (Sunday) I poked a bunch of holes in a nice 1 lb. ribeye steak and threw it in a gallon freezer bag with a good amount of Kikkoman teriyaki sauce. (I had to drive all over looking for a decent-sized bottle, though, because Wegmans only carries the small size like a bunch of pansies. Walmart was fresh out, though, and Target doesn’t seem to carry it at all, like a bunch of pansies. So I had to buy two small bottles from Wegmans. I didn’t actually use a full bottle; this was just for a backup.)

This evening, I fired up the grill and threw on the steak. But while the grill was heating I preheated the oven, warmed up a few tablespoons of leftover bacon grease in the microwave, and dumped the grease into the bag with a bunch of crinkle-cut French fries. After coating the fries thoroughly I laid them out on a cookie sheet lined with foil (for easy cleanup) for cooking in the oven. They finished cooking while the steak rested. If you’ve never tried this, do yourself a favor and do so; but don’t think the bacon grease will stand in for salting the fries properly, because you still have to do that.

I was nervous that I might have slightly overcooked my steak, but it came out a perfect medium after all, superbly tender. Supposedly the extra long marination (about 20 hours) shouldn’t have accounted for that, but hey, whatever did it, it was awesome.

A vegetable probably would have been a good idea, but… eh.

Oh, and during lunch I got a scam robocall on my cell phone hit 0 twice, and actually got to talk to a real live thing that had the gall to call itself a person. Then I told it to put me on the do not call list and followed that up with something to make them rethink their life choices while they’re lying awake at night with the lights on. I’m not a psychopath, but I play one on the phone. Until I can legalize hunting these bozos, that sort of extreme verbal and psychological abuse will have to do. (They hung up after that.)

So yeah, plenty of red meat today.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

