You like me!

I have to admit, I’ve been pretty pumped about the reviews so far for Below. They’ve come in at a trickle, but they’ve been overwhelmingly positive so far, and it’s nice to see that people are actually enjoying the story I had to tell and how it was written. This is the first of my books to see any real publicity, so this is the first time I’ve gotten anything close to this in number of reviews.

Recently I mentioned that Dubious Quality did a nice writeup of the book, which was huge, but this week I was Googling around and discovered that about two weeks ago, a French website that reviews English-language books did a piece on Below. (Translation here.) It’s the first really lengthy review I’ve had, and it’s amazing. (At least the parts that survived Google Translate are amazing.) The coolest thing about it, to me, is that some of the things it talked about were things I’d tried to convey in the book. I kept thinking: “Yes! That’s what I was going for!”

Below sincerely loves dungeons. And this love is contagious.

That’s true. It’s so true. Well to be honest, I only have the right to say the first part is true, but I had really hoped the rest of it would be too.

Putting anything at all out into the world always comes with a heaping helping of self-doubt. When I published, I really had no idea what to expect in terms of how or whether people would connect to it, or if they’d think my writing was any good. But they’re saying nice things, and there’s still a big part of me that has trouble believing that. It’s wonderful and uplifting and humbling all at the same time.

About Lummox JR

Aspiring to be a beloved supervillain
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

